This Rebel Reviews: The Bruising of Qilwa by Nadeem Jamnia

This book is amazing. I love Firuz the main character so much. I love that Firuz is a healer for the poor. As much as I love reading fantasy with huge story lines and the characters all being rebels and trying to overturn the the unjust leaders, sometimes you just need to read about a different kind of hero. Firuz’s dedication to their mother, brother and patients is inspiring. I adored all the characters so much but Firuz is my favorite.

I love books with magic and I thought the magic system in this book was well thought out and easy to understand. I love that this book talked about immigration, affordable healthcare, and prejudice. This book handled these subjects very well. The writing is so beautiful and lyrical. I love that this world is queer normative and am hoping for more books written in this world. I highly recommend this gem of a book.

Rating: 5 stars

Leave a comment