Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Tropes

Dear Rebellious Readers,

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly blog post hosted by  That Artsy Reader Girl and this week’s topic is favorite tropes. A trope is a commonly used theme or plot device.

1. Rebellions– I love rebellions. I always have. I have always loved it when a group of people stands up against an unjust system or person. How they are willing to fight to the death for what they believe. How they finally had the courage to say enough it stops now. How people who were seen as nothing and no threat by the system or tyrant are the ones to take a stand and take it down. I can’t have enough books with rebellions.

2. Well Done Love Triangles- I love a great well-written love triangle. One that the author has thought out and not just put in there for a little extra drama. One where both guys have something the other doesn’t and it draws the girl equally to them and she has deep connections with the boys and choosing is not easy and you really are not sure who she will pick because they are both right for her for different reasons.  Best done I have read are Will/Tessa/Jem from The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare and Morpheous/ Alyssa/Jeb from Splintered series by AG Howard.

3. Retellings- I love it when authors take an old fairy tale or novel and put a fresh and unique twist on it.

4. Enemies to Lovers Romance- Ever since I read about Elizabeth and Darcy in Pride and Prejudice  I have been in love with enemies to lovers romance. I love the characters learning that they were mistaken and the other person is worth so much more then they could have imagined.

5. Long Lost Princess/Prince/King/Queen- I have always loved this trope. I know it is one that is used all the time but I love it. I love how the characters are looking for the long lost royal to come back and save their people even when sometimes they don’t even know if they are still alive. I love the characters hope and faith.

6. Chosen One- As a kid like most kids I liked to imagine and play like I was the chosen heroine sent to slay the dragon. I always wanted to be the chosen one and it is amazing that I can live vicariously through the adventures of other chosen one’sin books.

7. Villain Redeemed- I love it when Villains see the evil of their ways and turn to the side of right. I love the idea that people can change and become better people then they were. That they can make up for all the bad things they did or supported.

What are some of your favorite bookish tropes?

Yours in Rebellion

Nicole

 

 

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Tropes

  1. I love retellings, too. There are so many great ones out there. I especially like it when they make me look at a famous character (often a villain) from a legend/fairy tale in a totally new way.

    My TTT

  2. I almost included Lost royalty on my list too, but I had too many to pick from and I dropped it. When rebellions, love triangles, and the chosen one tropes are done well, I enjoy them as well.

    Great list! 🙂

Leave a comment