Review: September Owlcrate~Darkness

14717626_1677803402534290_7033338053364023296_n1

IOwlcrate is a monthly Young Adult Book Subsciption box which sends out a new YA release each month along with 4-5 bookish goodies that fit that month’s theme.  I found Owlcrate in March and have loved every box I have gotten. This is my review of the September box.

The theme of this month’s box was Darkness. One of the items in the box was a Six of Crows bookmark created by eviebookish especially for this box. I love her designs and was so psyched to see this item when I opened my box. I now have the perfect bookmark for when I binge read the Six of Crows Duology. It says “No Mourners, No Funerals” on one side and “When everyone knows you’re a monster you needn’t waste time doing every monstrous thing.”

Next is this beautiful candle also an exclusive to the box made by The Melting Library inspired by the Throne of Glass series. Which I am reading next year when all the books are out. It has been a struggle waiting and this candle isn’t making it easier. It is after the main characters love of chocolate cake. Thus the name Celaena’s Cake. It smells like chocolate but with another scent under it. I wish it just smelled like chocolate because that other scent throws the smell off in my opinion. I love the circle quote included when you open the candle and thought it was such a nice touch. I can’t wait to burn it. It will make a perfect bath candle.

Speaking of baths. A berry scented fortune telling bath bomb was included. This looks like it is going to be a great item for a pamper night. I love berry scents and it being a fortune telling bath bomb just adds more fun to using it. I can’t wait to run a hot bath,light some candles(including Celaena’s Cake).and relax with some music and a book. No, I haven’t decided what I am going to ask.

I love Out of Prints products so I was excited to see this pouch inspired by Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. The movie came out in September and I haven’t seen it or read the books yet but I love the quote on the bag which says “Strange, I thought, how you can be living your dreams and your nightmares at the same time” from book 2 Hollow City. On the other side it just says Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children. Out of Print always makes such well made products with a fun bookish twist.

Owlcrate always includes a trading card with all the items listed on the back and why they included them, a sneak peek card with the next month’s theme witch is Once Upon a Dream and one of the items that will be included in next month’s box, and now a collectible pin(they started including pins in their August 2016 box) with artwork from the trading card. In this box they also included a promotional item for a new book written by P.C. Cast called Moon Chosen and Remade part one of a new YA serial story. One of my favorite things included that just bought me back to my childhood was a hand held fortune teller. I remember folding them up in class and asking them all kinds of questions but my childhood answers didn’t look anything like these which include horrible ways to die or your plan going wrong. One of my favorites is Your familiar, a killer whale, kills you. They also usually send a promotional item for the book with the box which is what the fortune teller is. Examples of items they have sent as promos for the books are mini posters,stickers,temporary tattoos,and colored pencils.

Owlcrate also always includes a letter written for the box by the author of the chosen book. Their was a map of the world on the back of this letter. I love that touch and it is so cool to get in the author’s head about the book they have written. This month’s pick was Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake. I had seen this book around on amazon and goodreads but never really looked into it but when I read the jacket I was like how have a never looked into this book before. Three sisters(triplets)all born with an equal right to the throne must fight to the death to become Queen. All the sisters have a different kind of magic. This sounds so dark and magical. I can’t wait to dive into this book. I loved that this box came with a book plate signed by the author. I live on the gulf side of FL and signings are very few on this side of FL so whenever I can get a signed bookplate I am always happy.

Rating: 5/5

If you haven’t subscribed to Owlcrate I am leaving a link so you can do so if you wish. I love this box and if could only get one box I would get Owlcrate.

Here is the link: Owlcrate

Your’s in Rebellion,

The Reading Rebel

Leave a comment