Review: Enchanted by Alethea Kontis

12180248

Enchanted by Alethea Kontis

Book 1 in the Woodcutter Sisters’ Series

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy/ Fairy Tale Retelling

Summary from Goodreads:

It isn’t easy being the rather overlooked and unhappy youngest sibling to sisters named for the other six days of the week. Sunday’s only comfort is writing stories, although what she writes has a terrible tendency to come true.

When Sunday meets an enchanted frog who asks about her stories, the two become friends. Soon that friendship deepens into something magical. One night Sunday kisses her frog goodbye and leaves, not realizing that her love has transformed him back into Rumbold, the crown prince of Arilland—and a man Sunday’s family despises.

The prince returns to his castle, intent on making Sunday fall in love with him as the man he is, not the frog he was. But Sunday is not so easy to woo. How can she feel such a strange, strong attraction for this prince she barely knows? And what twisted secrets lie hidden in his past—and hers?

My Review

Sunday is the youngest sister of the Woodcutter family in the magical land of Arilland. One day when she goes off to write in the woods she meets a talking frog who was a man but has been cursed to be a frog.They fall in love and Sunday trying to help him break the enchantment kisses him. He turns back into his human self which is the Rumbold, Prince of Arilland and a man who Sunday’s family hates. Will true love prevail in a land as full of deceit as it is of magic?.

This is the first book in the Woodcutter Sisters series and it is about the youngest sister Sunday. Sunday has the power that whatever she writes will come true but the reality of what she writes might not be what you wanted. It’s a be careful what you wish for kind of thing. Sunday is my second favorite sister so far(my first being Saturday ). I was surprised how much I liked her. Reading the back of the book she just didn’t sound very interesting but I was wrong. One of the things I love about her character is Sunday is very open about her faults and doesn’t try to pretend to be perfect or someone she isn’t. But sometimes she underestimates herself. I really loved the hero Rumbold. I loved his transformation from human to frog to human and how he was changed by each one. I love how strong and determended Rumbold is to get back to his old life after the curse is broken. I know what it is like to feel like a stranger in your own skin. I love how the books in the Woodcutter series aren’t just romances but also have a focus on family and loyalty. Rumbold is my favorite hero in the series. One of my favorite scenes was Sunday and Rumbold’s first dance at the ball. It reminded me of Lizzy and Darcy’s first dance together in the Pride and Prejudice movie from 2005, the scene were the whole room falls away and it’s only them. I loved Sunday’s sister and how they were all so different and unique. Sunday’s younger brother Trix is a hoot. I have never known a character to attract such chaos and disaster. He has his own spin-off series that starts with Trixter.

One great thing I loved about this book was there was always something going on and there was never a dull moment. Two of my favorite characters were Rumbold’s fey cousin Velius(who I really want to get his own story)and Rumbold’s guard Erik who had a great sense of humor. I have a warning for all who do not like love at first sight. Don’t read this series. All the books have it. Kontis has an amazing imagination and weaves so many different fairy tales and legends together sometimes you can’t tell where the fairy tale ends and her imagination begins. I do recommend you read these books in order. I didn’t and missed out on some of the plot twists. This book at least had more information about the world and the faeries and the magic but more needs to be known. They call on all these gods and nothing is explained about them. I loved the ending. It was perfect. Kontis weaves a charming tale full of fairy tales, magic, and love. I can’t wait for the next Woodcutters Sisters’ Book. It’s about the Pirate Queen Thursday.

Rating:5 out of 5

Content Rating: PG

Happy Reading,

The Reading Rebel

Leave a Reply

