Review: Bad News Cowboy by Maisey Yates

24224925

Bad News Cowboy by Maisey Yates

Book 3 in the Copper Ridge Series

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Summary from Goodreads:

Can the bad boy of Copper Ridge, Oregon, make good—and win the rodeo girl of his dreams?

Kate Garrett keeps life simple—working hard, riding her beloved horses, playing cards with her brothers. Lately, though, she feels a bit restless, especially when family friend Jack Monaghan is around. Sexy and shameless, Jack is the kind of trouble you don’t tangle with unless you want your heart broken. Still, Kate could always use his help in learning how to lasso someone a little less high-risk…

Jack can’t pinpoint the moment the Garrett brothers’ little sister suddenly stopped seeming so…little. Now here he is, giving flirting tips to the one woman who needs zero help turning him on. Love’s a game he’s never wanted to play. But he’ll have to hurry up and learn how before the best thing that ever entered his life rides right back out again…

My Review

This is the second book I have read by Maisey Yates. I loved the first one to pieces so having won this series in a contest I couldn’t wait to start it. While looking at the 3 books I found that book 3 had one of my favorite romance tropes sister in love with brother’s best friend. So I just had to read book 3 first. I know some people see reading a series out of order as blaspheme(Mom yes I am talking about you)but if it’s a romance series that doesn’t have a plot line running throw the books then I have no problems with it but I am rambling so onto the review.

Kate Garret is a neck or nothing rider, independent, stubborn, loves her family, and hates being told what to do. My kinda heroine. She is very down to earth which is one of my favorite things about her character. As a kid her mother walked out on her and her 2 brothers(Conner and Eli)who ended up raising her and keeping the family ranch afloat after their father turned into a drunk. Jack has been around as long as Kate can remember. He was the one who always made her smile when life got hard as a kid. Jack has had a bad home life with a mother who didn’t care and a father who left. He has always thought less of himself for those reasons. The only family Jack has ever known has been Conner, Eli, and Kate. Jack is such a swoon-worthy hero. He is my favorite kind of hero a bad boy with a big heart. Jack is a lot more complex then everyone even his closest friends Eli and Conner know.

I love how Kate and Jack both see that their relationship is changing but both don’t want to admit it is attraction. Both having known each other for years I can understand why being attracted to each other would feel weird and be complicated. Jack and Kate have a bond that runs deep even before they ever felt the sparks of attraction. Yates did a great job showing how important Jack and Kate have always been to each other even when they didn’t know it. I love the scenes were Jack and Kate were fighting their attraction as much as I loved the scenes where they were giving into it.

I loved how Jack and Kate make each other brave and willing to overcome their fears because of the other’s love and support. So romantic. One of my favorite moments was when Jack and Kate were hanging out together and bared their souls to each other.  I love declarations of love and Jack’s made me swoon and cheer and smile. Hometown/Small Town romances are not what I usually read but I have one town that I want to visit again and again and that is Copper Ridge,Oregon. Maisey Yates is an amazing writer who creates complex characters you just fall in love with and rout for every step of the way. I highly recommend this book to everyone who loves romance, bad boys, and cowboys.

Rating: 5 out of 5

Content Rating: Mature ages 17 and up

Heat Rating: Hot

Your’s in Rebellion,

The Reading Rebel

 

 

Leave a Reply

