Review: The Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross

thegrilintheThe Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross

The Steampunk Chronicles Book 1

Genre: Young Adult Steampunk

Summary from Goodreads:

In 1897 England, sixteen-year-old Finley Jayne has no one… except the “thing” inside her.

When a young lord tries to take advantage of Finley, she fights back. And wins. But no normal Victorian girl has a darker side that makes her capable of knocking out a full-grown man with one punch.

Only Griffin King sees the magical darkness inside her and says she’s special, says she’s one of them . The orphaned duke takes her in from the gaslit streets, against the wises of his band of misfits. And Finley thinks she might finally be a part of something, finally fit in-until a criminal mastermind known as Machinist threatens to tear the group apart…

My Review

Finley Jayne isn’t normal and can do things normal people can’t. One night after being attacked by her employer and beating him up and knocking him out, she runs scared about what he might do to her when he wakes up. When she is making her escape she runs in front of a vehicle driven by Griffin King, Duke of Greythorne and she is knocked out. She wakes up at the Duke’s house and finds out she is not the only abnormal one.

I loved Finley when I read about her in The Strange Case of Finley Jayne and I love her even more in The Girl with the Steel Corset. I love her stubbornness, independence, uniqueness, her standing up for the weak, how brave she is and many other things. Griffin is the leader of a group of people with special abilities like Finley’s. I have a lot of respect for his character. To be in charge of all these secrets and having his parents killed when he was so young must be a great burden. Plus having his own special ability. Emily who handles all the technology is brilliant and kind. I am very intrigued by her character. I wonder what happened in her past to make her want to get away from her family. Sam is super strong but very troubled about what happened to him. I felt bad for Sam and what he had to go through. I understand his anger but you can’t let it control you. There is a lot of tension with Emily, Griffin, and Sam because of what happened to him. Griffin’s aunt was very freaky with her ability to get into people’s heads and hope to see more of her in future books. I really loved Jack Dandy who is a master criminal and look forward to seeing more of him. I have a feeling he is more than what he seems. I loved the scene where Finley learned how she came to have these abilities. It was very emotional and heartbreaking. Finley’s struggle to merge both parts of herself is fascinating to watch. Some books you just connect with the characters at hello and this is one of those books for me. Any books were the characters are different and outcasts speaks to me. Finley wanting to find a place to belong is a universally feeling that everyone will connect with.

This book has two romances going on. Finley/Griffin/Jack and Emily/Sam/Jasper. The Jack and Griffin love triangle is great. I think each guy represents each side of her personality. But I know in the Emily/Sam/Jasper love triangle that Emily only has eyes for Sam. But I hope Jasper finds a girlfriend in book 2 or 3 or 4. He is one of my fellow country man and a cowboy.

The author is doing an amazing job with world building. It is brilliant how she weaves history and fantasy together. I loved how all the little details about the clothes, titles, balls,being rich and how that and a title made you above wrong, how servants were treated in the period,ect… were woven so naturally into the story. I would love to have the amazing outfits described in the book. I loved how the author had all these machines that resembled things today.

The writing flowed and I read 200 pages in one sitting. Not even wanting to put down the book for dinner. I loved how this book was so action packed and fast-paced. I was on the edge of my seat almost the whole book. The only thing I didn’t like about the book was I figured out who the bad guy was as soon as he walked onto the scene. I highly recommend this book to all who love great adventure, action, friendship, historical fantasy, characters that you can easily connect with, and great writing.

Rating: 5 out 5

Content Rating: PG-13

Your’s in Rebellion,

The Reading Rebel

 

Leave a Reply

