Darker Still by Leanna Renee Hieber Review

10841336Darker Still by Leanna Renee Hieber

Book 1 in the Magic Most Foul series

Genre: Young Adult Paranormal Fantasy

Summery from Goodreads:

I was obsessed.

It was as if he called to me, demanding I reach out and touch the brushstrokes of color swirled onto the canvas. It was the most exquisite portrait I’d ever seen–everything about Lord Denbury was unbelievable…utterly breathtaking and eerily lifelike.

There was a reason for that. Because despite what everyone said, Denbury never had committed suicide. He was alive. Trapped within his golden frame.

I’ve crossed over into his world within the painting, and I’ve seen what dreams haunt him. They haunt me too. He and I are inextricably linked–bound together to watch the darkness seeping through the gas-lit cobblestone streets of Manhattan. Unless I can free him soon, things will only get Darker Still.

My Review

Natalie Stewart the heroine and narrator of the story is mute and has been since her mother passed. She has just finished school and has come to live with her dad again. This being set in 1880 the options for women were limited and for a mute one ever more so. When she hears about a painting of the late Lord Denbury,who is said to have commented suicide after his parents died. She convinces her father who works at the Metropolitan Museum of Art to get the painting for the museum. Mrs. Northe a rich spiritualist buys the painting so it doesn’t fall into the wrong hands but she is willing to lone it to the Met. But there is something odd about the painting that is going to change Natalie’s life forever.

I loved the character of Natalie. Her imagination,her big heart,her bravery,her uniqueness,and her passion for the written word made her an amazing heroine. Natalie has a lot of trouble fitting in because of her not being able to speak. I loved that the author had Natalie not being able to speak because everyone at one time in their life has felt or been silenced. I have always connected easily with characters who are different and have a disability that keeps them from living a normal life.

Poor Denbury. I can’t imagine being trapped with no way to get help or even talk to anyone. How lonely,angry,and helpless he must feel. Lord Denbury is such a wonderful loving,caring soul and to have to watch a demon do evil things in your body that has to kill a part of that soul. The heroine and hero both want and do transcend the stereotypes of their gender and rank of the time period in this book and I love and respect that.

I loved the idea of someone being trapped in a painting while his body was possessed by a demon. I have always been a big fan of the supernatural and I love that the author drew from that to tell her story. The author’s humor is just as great as in The Eterna Files and I love seeing characters from that book in this one(even if this series came first). If you are not into love at first sight this isn’t the book for you. They had a connection from their first meeting. This author has a gift of making her characters very relateable. A lot of questions are left unanswered about the man behind it all but that is to be expected as this is a trilogy. If you are looking for a magical,funny,suspenseful adventure with a unique heroine and a good to the soul hero this is the book for you.

Rating: 5 out of 5

Content Rating: PG-13

Happy Reading,

The Reading Rebel

2 thoughts on “Darker Still by Leanna Renee Hieber Review

    1. I also need to stop reading book reviews 🙂 before my TBR list goes from a big hill to a mountain but I wouldn’t of course. The second book is where they start to get to know each other.

Leave a Reply

