Why Shoot a Butler? by Georgette Heyer Review

whyshootabutterWhy Shoot a Butler? by Georgette Heyer

Genre: Country House Mystery

Summery from Goodreads

It is a complete mystery why anyone would choose to murder the trusted old butler of Norton Manor. Barrister turned amateur detective, Frank Amberley, has reason to suspect that the shooting involves the nervy young lady discovered at the scene of the crime, a snooping gentleman in the halls of Greythorne and then a second dead body. A dramatic tale of upstairs, downstairs and family secrets.

My Review

Frank Amberley is on his way to visit his Aunt,Uncle,and Cousin when he stumbles upon a murder and a girl at the scene of the crime.She swears she didn’t shoot the man. Turns out the murdered man is a butler on one of the nearby estates. But who would want to shoot a butler?

Frank Amberley is a lawyer and also is very arrogant but I still find his character like able. I loved his quick wit and think he is wasted as a lawyer and should become a detective. He would be heck of a lot more capable then some of the ones he works with in this book. Frank and the heroine of the novel Shirley have a really great love/hate relationship.

I loved Lady Matthews,Frank’s Aunt. She had me laughing at almost everything she said. Such intelligence hiding under her vague comments. Another character I really loved was Frank’s school friend Corkran. He also had me laughing. I still hadn’t figured out how did it by half way but I had figured out a few things about the case. I feel so bad for Joan(the girl who’s butler was murdered)having to live with her stepbrother Basil who has a slimy quality to him. I didn’t like him at all.

I loved that Heyer quoted Jane Austen. It was perfect quote for the character. I loved the race to the rescue. It was so exciting and romantic. I did feel for the police sergeant who had to ride in a car with Frank. He drives like my cousin Robert. Who tried to passed two semi trucks going 90mph on a one way road. I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves a good country house mystery with humor.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Content Rating: PG-13

Keeper: Yes

Happy Reading Y’All

The Reading Rebel

Leave a Reply

