Fifty First Times by Various Authors Review

fftcoverFifty First Times by Various Authors

Genre: New Adult Short Stories

Summery from Goodreads

You always remember your first time…

Whether it’s the couple who decides not to go through with it, the two boys who finally aren’t ashamed, the newlyweds whose wedding night could very well be their last night together, the deaf pair who have no choice but to take body language to a new level–or, of course, the two young lovers fumbling and laughing, getting everything wrong. These are the memories that will never fade.

Join nineteen fantastic authors as they pull back the curtain and give you a peek inside that one intense moment in their characters’ lives when everything changes and nothing will ever be the same again.

Featuring stories from some of the hottest names in New Adult, Young Adult, and Romance including New York Times Bestselling authors J.Lynn/Jennifer Armentrout, Molly McAdams, Sophie Jordan, and Carrie Ryan.

NOTE: These stories are works of fiction. If you want to know about our first times, you’ll have to buy us a pet monkey first.

My Review

This Short Story Collection Has 2 M/M romances. I didn’t know that going in but I want to give everyone a heads up because it’s just not some people’s cup of tea.

Sense this a book of short stories by multiple authors I am going to write a short review for each story and rate them all separately.

The Corner of First and Second by Gennifer Albin -I thought that is was a average story about 2 best friends who realize they have feelings for each other.Nothing special and will not be reading any of these authors other work. Rating: 2 out 5

Daylight by Julie Cross-A broken man finds someone to love and be loved by. This story is wonderful. Such depth of character is so few pages. The hero and heroine just jump off the pages. Heartfelt and Real. Will be reading more of this authors books. Great Writing. Rating: 5 out of 5

A Little Too Scarred by Lisa Desrochers- Very touching story about a broken girl who falls in love with a guy who shows her that she is not that broken after all. It is so refreshing to have the girl wounded in war as the main character. It is always the guy wounded and always thought this should be written about. Rating: 4 out of 5

Once Bitten by Cole Gibson-A story about a women who trains rescue dogs and the man who broke her heart 4 years ago and his return. He is now a cop and they have to work together. I enjoyed the story but I am not really into modern day crime stories. I give the story a 3 but the writing a 4 so I ended up with the Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Crash by Sophie Jordan- Sadder in nature like A Little Too Scarred. Brooke has decided that the only way to pay her bills and help her mom and sister is to go into the family business and become a stripper. Her first night she meets Hunter who had to be dragged there by his roommates and they feel sparks. I really loved the characters and writing but found this a little to sad for me. I can’t wait to read more of her books. I hear Hunter makes a showing in her novel Foreplay so I am looking forward to reading that even more now. Rating: 4 out of 5

Under the Seryn Moon by Melissa Landers- This story is about an arranged marriage between two tribes. The hero and heroine married for the peace of their people and don’t really know each other. The writing was great and was happy to read a fantasy story to change it up with all the modern day stories. I loved the hero and heroine and how they dealt with their arranged marriage. I really hope the author writes more books set in this world. Rating: 4 out of 5

How to be a Heart Breaker by Lauren Layne- This story is about a good girl who has to pick between two guys both she likes for different reasons. I really liked how the heroine came to realize which guy was for her and how she handled the situation maturely. Rating:4 out of 5

Two in the Morning by Roni Loren- Bates likes guys and he is in love with his best friend who is straight. Bates also hasn’t told anyone that about his sexuality. So when his best friend confronts him for acting weird. What is he going to say? I usually don’t read M/M stories. They just aren’t my thing. I do like how the author dealt with the subject. Rating: 3 out of 5

Believe in Me by Jennifer L Armentrout aka J. Lynn-Ollie and Britt have had an antagonistic flirtation going on since they meet though their dating friends. Before Ollie leaves for med-school Brit and him have a moment. Two months later after missing Brit, Ollie comes back for a visit. He thinks he just needs to get Brit in bed and out of his system but could it be more? It was a great story and I enjoyed the characters. I am a huge fan of JLA’s writing. Reading this story makes me want to start her Wait for You Series right now. Rating: 5 out of 5

Sharing Firsts by Molly Mcadams-This story is about 2 people who have been in love sense they were kids. They had every first together. From their first kiss to losing their virginity. This story is about their first big fight. This was one of my favorites. I loved the characters and found them both very real and developed for a short story. I will be looking out for this author’s other work. I love the secondary characters and hope they get their own books. Rating: 5 out of 5

Strike Out by Myra McEntire- Ben is a star catcher on his way to the major league. Liza works for the team and doesn’t trust ball players. What happens when Liza sees Ben might not be like the others? I thought this was a very cute story and enjoyed reading it. It wasn’t profond or anything. Just a nice story. Rating: 4 out of 5

This is My Sign by Hannah Moskowitz- This story was about 2 deaf people and how they communicated and became friends and then lovers. This read more like a very bad poem then a short story. I really didn’t like it at all.  It is the worst of all the stories.

Going for Broke by Lyla Payne- Noel and Tressa dated 2 years ago and Tressa never told him she loved him. So she drives down to his house to tell before he gets married. What could go wrong? This was another favorite.I loved the theme of this story. Never Settle. You deserve the best. I also loved the characters and would love to see some of the secondary characters get a book. Rating: 5 out of 5

For the Sake of Science by Mark Perini- Luke has traveled to Argentina to do an experiment with whales. He falls in love with some random girl at a restaurant he visits. Nothing speical. I didn’t care for any of the characters and didn’t really buy the love between the couple. I also though Luke was a jerk. Rating: 2 out of 5

Love in an Elevator by Carrie Ryan- Two people get stuck in an elevator for hours and talk then hook-up. I was very disappointed in this story. I really thought it would be more steamy and I would like the main characters better. Rating: 3 out of 5

Bunga Bunga by Andrew Shaffer- Two friends go to their first sex party together but things don’t go as planned. I am not into M/M and this was a lot more graphic then the last M/M story in this book. This wasn’t the worst story but it’s just not my thing. Rating: 2 out of 5

With the Lights On by Alessandra- Anna is a curvy girl who is going to become a consular to help other girls who have self-esteem issues about their body like her. I really liked the theme of this story and that the girl was curvy and the hero was just so sweet. Rating: 4 out of 5

Field Emotions by Melissa West- Summer and Blake have been best friends for years. They are both virgins and in love with each other. The caught is that the other has no idea about either of those things. Not my favorite or my least favorite. I thought the writing was great but the characters weren’t. Rating: 3 out of 5

Grind by Tracy Wolff- He left 3 years ago before his abusive father killed him. But he has never been able to forget the girl he left behind. I thought this was a great final story. I really felt the love between the 2 characters and believe in their relationship. 4 out of 5

Favorite Stories: Daylight,Believe in Me,Sharing Firsts,Going for Broke

Least Favorite Stories: This is my Sign,Bunga Bunga,For the Sake of Science,The Corner of First and Second

Over all some great,some good,and some not. I would recommend this book because their were more great/good stories then bad and some of them I just love and would have never read without reading this book.

Content Rating: Mature 17+

Keeper: Will read some of the stories again

Happy Reading Y’All

The Reading Rebel

Leave a Reply

