Obsidian by Jennifer L Armentrout Review

obsidanObsidian by Jennifer L Armentrout

Book one is The Lux series

Genre: Young Adult Paranormal

Summery from Goodreads:

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

My Review

Katy just moved to West Virgina and makes fast friends with her neighbor Dee but for some reason Dee’s twin brother hates her. It doesn’t take Katy long after meeting and spending time with Dee and Daemon to realize there is something different about them. But she never imagined how different. Like they are Aliens different.

I really loved the heroine Katy. She’s a book lover and book blogger. I moved multiple times as a kid and understand how hard it is being the new girl and her hating the new place she moved to. I love that she was strong but vulnerable and pretty but not drop dead beautiful.  Daemon it took me a while to warm up to him. He was an arrogant jerk though most of the book but you find out why he acts that way. I loved the moments in the book when you see the real Daemon behind the mask. Katy and Daemon have great banter,great chemistry,and great sexual tension. You just can’t wait until they have scenes together. I thought Daemon’s sister Dee was a delight and it was so heartbreaking to see how lonely she was.

I truly think Jennifer L Armentrout could write about two rattlesnakes baking a cake and I would love it. Her writing is just that great and captivating. I never want to put her books down. I love that this one was about Aliens and not vampires,werewolves,or angels. I am also so happy there isn’t a love triangle set up. I thought Jennifer L Armentrout’s Alien Mythology made sense and the information that was dumped on you all at once wasn’t hard to follow. The ending was lightning packed and can’t to read the next book.

Rating: 5 out of 5

Content Rating: PG-13

Keeper: YES!

Happy Reading Y’All

The Reading Rebel

Leave a Reply

