City of Heavenly Fire Review *WARNING MAJOR SPOILERS FROM TMI SERIES AND TID SERIES*DO NOT READ IF YOU HAVN’T READ THEM*

WARNING: MAJOR SPOILERS FROM THE MORTAL INSTRUMENTS SERIES AND THE INFERNAL DEVICES SERIES.DO NOT READ ON IF YOU HAVEN’T READ BOTH SERIES.

city of heavenly fire cover OMGCity of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

Book 6 in The Mortal Instruments series

Genre: Young Adult Paranormal/Urban Fantasy

Summery from Goodreads:

In this dazzling and long-awaited conclusion to the acclaimed Mortal Instruments series, Clary and her friends fight the greatest evil they have ever faced: Clary’s own brother.

Sebastian Morgenstern is on the move, systematically turning Shadowhunter against Shadowhunter. Bearing the Infernal Cup, he transforms Shadowhunters into creatures out of nightmare, tearing apart families and lovers as the ranks of his Endarkened army swell.

The embattled Shadowhunters withdraw to Idris – but not even the famed demon towers of Alicante can keep Sebastian at bay. And with the Nephilim trapped in Idris, who will guard the world against demons?

When one of the greatest betrayals the Nephilim have ever known is revealed, Clary, Jace, Isabelle, Simon, and Alec must flee – even if their journey takes them deep into the demon realms, where no Shadowhunter has set foot before, and from which no human being has ever returned…

Love will be sacrificed and lives lost in the terrible battle for the fate of the word in the thrilling final installment of the classic urban fantasy series The Mortal Instruments!

My Review:

I loved this book so much and thought it was a perfect end to an amazing series. I laughed,cried,yelled,screamed,clapped and fangirled from beginning to end. It was worth the wait of 2 years to get this book. This review is going to be a bit all over the place because I have so much to say and it’s not all that organized.

I have always loved Clary and Jace and them together and it was great to see Jace himself again and not under Sebastian’s control. But the heavenly fire running throw his veins was one of the couples new problems. I loved how that heavenly fire was Brother Zachariah aka Jem’s cure.  It was only fit that a Herondale saved Jem. I love Jem and was happy to see him cured. I loved seeing Jem and Tessa together and was in tears when they were talking about Will.

I love that Clary was one who fixed the heavenly fire and put it in her sword to kill Sebastian. My hatred for Sebastian grow each page I turned but I was surprised at how I felt pity for him when he talked about what he thought love was. I loved how Cassandra Clare had Clary kiss him and then say Hail,Master and kill him but I hated that the small part of Sebastian that was human(aka Jonathan)was left to die the death that Sebastian should have. I was one of the group who wanted Sebastian died so I would have stilled wanted him dead even if it meant his small bit of humanity had to die the worst part of the death.

I hated the deaths of Jordan and Raphael(which surprised me because I was never a fan of Raphael intil this book). Amatis was already dead in City of Lost Souls so I don’t count her as a death in this book. My opinion of Raphael changed many times in this book. I thought him a hypocrite and a traitor and then at the end when he didn’t kill Magnus I respected him.  I was cheering at the death of Meliorn because I have hated him from the moment he showed up and was so shocked to find out he was only half faerie.

I knew the faeries were screwed either way the moment they joined Sebastian. Sebastian was going to torture and kill them as soon as he didn’t find them useful or the Clave who are bunch of unforgiving idiots would make the faeries wish they were died with a horrible punishment.  Guess who was right? I did enjoy that the Seelie Queen was duped and was a little in love with Sebastian.

The Clave were idiots from beginning to end as per usual. First when they send the loved ones of the Endarkened throw to try and capture and “save them”. When everyone who has seen them is saying they are not themselves anymore but demons wearing the faces of the people they once were.  From talking about making a deal with Sebastian and handing over Jace and Clary. Sebastian is a lier and a killer but let’s make a deal.

Simon sacrificing his immortality and memories to get them out of Edom was so Simon. It fit his character so well and I was in tears when he did it.I felt so much for Izzy and Clary in that moment. It was one of the most heartbreaking moments of the book for me. I liked finding out who Magnus’s father was. I hate him with a passion by the way. Seeing Edom was one of my favorite parts of the book. I loved that the realm had it’s own sadly unsuccessful group of Shadowhunters. When they first entered Edom and all had those dreams it was so sad and I loved that Alec was the one to save them all and kill that demon.

I loved it when Maia became leader of the pack. She is going to be an amazing leader and was happy she found love again with Bat. I was also happy she didn’t tell Jordan she wanted to break up with him before he died. I agree with Bat on that.I love Magnus and Alec and was so happy when they worked out there problems and when Magnus told Alec he was his first a lot of things. So adorable.

I thought the Clave should punish the faeries but I agree with Magnus they went too far and should have shown some mercy. The Clave did make a desert and call it peace. And like Magnus said it begins again. I enjoyed meeting the characters from the next series. Emma is going to be an amazing heroine and I love Malcolm the high warlock of LA.

I loved the ending where everyone was together. I loved that Magnus helped Simon get some of his memories back and that Simon is going to train to become a Shadowhunter. I was also happy that Robert told Alec he was proud of him and about Michael Wayland. I am sad to say good-bye to these characters that I love so much but loved how it all ended and wouldn’t have changed a thing.

Rating: 5 out of 5

Content Rating: PG-13

Keeper: YES!

Nicole The Reading Rebel

Leave a Reply

