Pride and Persistence Review

21801558Pride and Persistence by Jeanna Ellsworth

Genre: Jane Austen Variations/Retellings

Goodreads Summery

Undaunted by a threatening storm, Fitzwilliam Darcy of Pemberley insists he must deliver his letter to Miss Elizabeth Bennet – then tragedy strikes. Riddled with guilt, Elizabeth comes to the aid of the comatose Mr. Darcy and stays by his side until he regains consciousness. She soon learns that although Mr. Darcy has awoken, he has not returned to himself. And with no memory of his first disastrous proposal, he has concluded that there is nothing he wants more than to propose to Miss Elizabeth.
This humorous journey of love leaves one asking, can persistence pacify prejudice? Can Elizabeth see the real gentleman behind the injury, a man who persists in professing his love to her every chance he gets? In this Regency variation of Jane Austen’s beloved Pride and Prejudice, Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth Bennet both learn the value of persistence.

My Review:

I loved this version of Pride and Prejudice. I found it very unique in the idea of Darcy’s hitting his head and losing his memory. All the characters stayed true to the original novel from the meddling Lady Catherine to the ridiculous Mr.Collins. This is the first Pride and Prejudice variation that I have read that wasn’t by Amanda Grange. I was worried that other Jane Austen variations and retellings wouldn’t live up to hers but I was so wrong. Pride and Persistence is a great book. I had only one problem some of the language was too modern for the time period. Even through the writing doesn’t have a regency feel or the pose of Austen it is still great and the story flowed well. I loved how this book was romantic and passionate with kisses and embraces and still a clean/sweet romance. The revelation about one of the characters at the end I didn’t see coming. Colonel Fitzwilliam is a big character in this book and was developed very believable and him being a character I always wanted more of in the original novel I was happy to have him play a big role in this book. I loved the ending and can’t wait to read this author’s other books.

A special thanks to Alice @ readingwithalice.blogspot.com for hosting the giveaway for this book and to Jeanna Ellsworth for having the giveaway and sending me a copy of this book. This is an honest review and winning a copy didn’t in any way influence my review.

Rating:4.5 out of 5 stars

Content Rating:PG(sensual kisses and embraces)

Keeper:Yes

Nicole D. The Reading Rebel

2 thoughts on “Pride and Persistence Review

  1. I’ve never read a Jane Austen book before, never as much seen a movie adaption either. I know, it’s astounding. 😉

    This adaption sounds interesting though. I’m wondering how the amnesia is going to work out in the end. Sometimes novels have people lose their memories then just get them back a few weeks later… Kind of strange.

    Anyway, I like that this is a clean romance which makes sense given this is a Jane Austen adaptation. I think I may give this book a try. I think your review would look nicer if you put a space after your “:”, changed the genre type, change “good summery from goodreads” to “Goodreads Summary” and maybe include the link, and then put a space after all the periods in your review. 🙂 I hope my suggestions are okay.

  2. Thanks for the suggestions.I am so new to this blogging thing and am always up for how I can do it better.I have taken some of your suggestions.

    I recommend your read the original Pride and Prejudice first.It is one of my favorite books.I can’t believe you have never seen at least one of the movies.You must try Pride and Prejudice mini series from 1995.It is the best adaption IMO.

Leave a Reply

