Random Friday #2

Today’s Random Friday is on something all booklovers either hate,love,or in my case love to hate.

Drum Roll…..

Cliffhangers

The term cliffhanger is considered to have originated with Thomas Hardy’s serial novel A Pair of Blue Eyes in 1873. In the novel, Hardy chose to leave one of his protagonists, Knight, literally hanging off a cliff staring into the stony eyes of a trilobite embedded in the rock that has been dead for millions of years. This became the archetypal — and literal — cliff-hanger of Victorian prose.(infomation from goodreads)

It is one of every readers worst moments when you reach the end of a book and something huge happens and then there is no more words to read.You are left there on the edge of your seat and then all the amazement vanishes as you look down at the page and it’s blank after that last sentence.I have smacked books after reading the last page and getting a cliffhanger.Screamed and almost throw books at the wall.I have a love hate relationship with them as it makes me so excited for the next book and makes me scream because I need the next book now or things are going to get nasty.

Some of my cruelest cliffhangers I even have nicknames for some of them:

Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare(My name is and I have come to be cliffhanger)

City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare(I am coming cliffhanger)

Insurgent by Veronica Roth( what’s outside cliffhanger)

The Lunar Chronicles(Cinder,Scarlet,and Cress)by Marissa Meyer

The Eternity Cure by Julie Kagawa

I am happy a lot of Young Adult Fantasy series I have read have had all the books out.But when I read a romance novel I can’t stand cliffhangers.I want the couple together and happy.Not waiting for one of them to get back from war or something or haven’t picked the guy/girl they are going to be with.If you do that to me in a romance novel I might never read you again.

What are some of your favorite and least favorite cliffhangers?Do you even read books with cliffhangers?Is a pure romance novel with a cliffhanger as big a deal breaker for you as it is for me?

Nicole D. The Reading Rebel

Leave a Reply

